Courage

February 4, 2010 at 9:31 pm Leave a comment

Courage

Your eyes, touched with red and tears
Break through your ten-year-old mettle.
Your voice puts a name to your fears
And I cannot show you mine.

“Please don’t leave me alone.”

Last time I refused to leave
Unless someone was there to take my place.
I watched the machines
Listened to the sound of artificial life.

“It’s coming sooner than I thought.”

Little girls grown big have fears
Of shadows in the corner
Of ghost stories
Of phantoms from imaginings.

“Could I die?”

Your fears are not of monsters.
Your fears are of pain
Of overwhelming foreboding
Of dying before experience.

“Why did God break my heart?”

The surgeon will fix a broken heart
That God made
Not broken, but different.
You will awaken

Stronger.

–Nicole Wardell, 2010

Entry filed under: CHD Awareness, CHD Hospitalization, Open Heart Surgery. Tags: , , , .

Stories From a Heart Surgeon Melody Valve–A Medical God-send

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Using My Writing on Your own Site

I love it when others want to share what I have written here. You are more than welcome to share any articles or posts with others, HOWEVER; if you do so, I ask that you give proper credit to this blog and include a hyperlink to http://www.perfectbrokenhearts.wordpress.com. ALL information posted on this site is copyrighted.
Business 2 Blogger

Bloganthropy Badge–I took the Pledge

Pledge Your Social Media Influence for Good at Bloganthropy

Nicole Wardell


